Beverly Hills, California (September 30, 2013) – The NAACP Beverly Hills/Hollywood Branch’s Theatre Viewing Committee announces nominations for the 23rd Annual NAACP Theatre Awards. The awards include 32 categories, which encompass local and equity nominations. This year’s awards show will be held on Monday, November 11, 2013, at 6:00 P.M. at the historical Saban Theatre in Beverly Hills, California, formerly known as the Fox Wilshire Theatre.  


This year’s Equity Theatre nominations include an array of phenomenal productions including “Memphis”, securing seven nominations counting Christopher Ashley in the category of “Best Director of a Musical – Equity”.  Locking in second place with six nominations, Henry Miller leads an all-star cast in the provocative “Fraternity” whose cast includes Rocky Carroll and Roger Robinson both nominated in the category of “Best Leading Male – Equity” and Robert Gossett and Mel Winkler both nominated in the category of “Best Supporting Male – Equity”.  “Intimate Apparel” and “The Scottsboro Boys” tie for third place in the Equity category both with five nominations.  For “Intimate Apparel” Tony-award nominee Sheldon Epps is nominated in the category of Best Dir