28th Annual NAACP Theatre Awards Nominations / Winners June 17, 2019

Winners Highlighted Yellow

Best Choreography – Larger Theatre

Summer: The Donna Summer Musical – Sergio Trujillo

The Legend of Georgia McBride –
Paul McGill

Born For This – Warren Adams

Best Choreography – 99 Seat Theatre

Punk Rock – Matthew Glave Runaway Home – Janet Roston Les Blancs – Joyce Guy

Best Costumes – Larger Theatre

Summer: The Donna Summer Musical

– Paul Tazewell

The Legend of Georgia McBride – E.B. Brooks Born For This – William Ivey Long

Best Costumes - 99 Seat Theatre

Les Blancs – Wendell C. Carmichael Antony and Cleopatra – Gloria Gifford, Lauren Plaxco and Lucy Walsh

Transition – Kate Bergh

Best Director – Larger Theatre

Zoot Suit – Luis Valdez Head of Passes – Tina Landau The Legend of Georgia McBride – Mike Donahue

Best Director – 99 Seat Theatre The Meeting – Bill Cobbs

Lyrics from Lockdown – Gina Belafonte Runaway Home – Shirley Jo Finney

Best Director of a Musical — Larger Theatre

Shout Sister Shout – Randy Johnson Summer: The Donna Summer Musical - Des McAnuff

Born For This – Charles Randolph-Wright

Best Director of a Musical – 99 Seat Theatre Can God's Love – Spencer M. Collins

IV

Walking in Dorothy Dandridge's Shoes. Her Final New Beginning – Wanda Ray Willis Antony and Cleopatra – Gloria Gifford

$\underline{Best\ Ensemble\ Cast-Larger\ The atre}$

Home

Summer: The Donna Summer Musical 946: The Amazing Story of Adolphus Tins

Best Ensemble Cast - 99 Seat Theatre

Periphery
Les Blancs
The Meeting

Best Lead Female - Larger Theatre

Head of Passes – Phylicia Rashad Born For This – Deborah Joy Winans Trouble in Mind – Earnestine Phillips

Best Lead Female – 99 Seat Theatre

This Land – LeShay Tomlinson Boyce Br'er Cotton – Yvonne Huff Lee An Accident – Kacie Rogers This Land – Niketa Calame

Best Lead Male - Larger Theatre

Between Riverside and Crazy – John Cothran Driving Miss Daisy – Arthur Richardson Born For This – Juan Winans

Best Lead Male – 99 Seat Theatre

Br'er Cotton – Omete Anassi An Accident – Kent Faulcon Transitions – Joshua Wolf Coleman

Best Lighting – Larger Theatre

Head of Passes – Jeff Croiter

Summer: The Donna Summer Musical

– Howell Binkley

Born For This – Jason Lyons

Best Lighting - 99 Seat Theatre

Les Blancs – Derrick McDaniel Transition – Donny Jackson King Hedley II – Derek Jones

Best Music Director - Larger Theatre

Shout Sister Shout – Rahn Coleman Summer: The Donna Summer Musical – Ron Melrose

Born For This - Jaret Landon

Best Music Director – 99 Seat Theatre

Elevator – Mario Marchetti Can God's Love – Cedric Lily Love is a Dirty Word – Giovanni Adams

Best One Person Show – Larger Theatre

Turn Me Loose – Joe Morton

Best One Person Show - 99 Seat Theatre

Love is a Dirty Word – Giovanni Adams

<u> Lyrics from Lockdown – Bryonn Bain</u>

Conversation 'Bout the Girls – Sonia Jackson

Best Playwright - Larger Theatre

Born For This – Bebe Winans and Charles Randolph-Wright

Summer: The Donna Summer Musical

- Colman Domingo, Robert Cary and
Des McAnuff
Head of Passes – Tarell Alvin Mc

Craney

Best Playwright – 99 Seat Theatre

This Land – Evangeline Ordaz An Accident – Lydia Stryk King Hedley II – August Wilson

Best Producer – Larger Theatre

Born For This – My Destiny Productions and Ron Gillyard Summer: The Donna Summer Musical – LaJolla Playhouse

Turn Me Loose – Wallis Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts in Association with John Legend, Get Lifted Film Company & Mike Jackson

28th Annual NAACP Theatre Awards Nominations / Winners June 17, 2019

Best Producer – 99 Seat Theatre

The Meeting – Shannon Sylvain
This Land – Company of Angels,
Danny Munoz & Tamadhur AlAgeel

King Hedley II – Sophina Brown

Best Set Design - Larger Theatre

Summer: The Donna Summer Musical

– Robert Brill

Head of Passes – G. W. Mercier Big Night – John Lee Beatty

Best Set Design - 99 Seat Theatre

Bee-luther Hatchee – Christopher Scott Murillo King Hedley II – John Iacovelli This Land – Justin Huen

Best Sound – Larger Theatre

Head of Passes – Rob Milburn and Michael Bodeen Summer: The Donna Summer Musical – Gareth Owen Shout Sister Shout – Jon Gottlieb

Best Sound – 99 Seat Theatre

Transition – David Marling

Les Blancs – Jeff Gardner King Hedley II – Kevin Novinsky

Best Supporting Female – Larger Theatre

Born For This – Kirsten Wyatt Born Born For This – Kiandra Richardson Born For This – Nita Whitaker

Best Supporting Female – 99 Seat Theatre

Punk Rock – Raven Scott Runaway Home – Karen Malina White

Peace Be Still – Brely Evans Peace Be Still – Anika McFall

Best Supporting Male – Larger Theatre

Born For This – Milton Craig Nealy Five Guys Named Moe - Rogelio Douglas, Jr The Legend of Georgia McBride – Larry Powell Best Supporting Male – 99 Seat Theatre
Punk Rock – Jacob B. Gibson
Br'er Cotton – Christopher Carrington

King Hedley II – Adolphus Ward