(Hollywood, CA) December 4, 2014 – The Beverly Hills/Hollywood NAACP branch and its partners Wells Fargo, The City of Los Angeles (Councilman Bernard Parks) and Rent-A-Center announced winners of the 24th Annual NAACP Theatre Awards on November 17th at the Saban Theatre in Beverly Hills. Actress Kym Whitley, star of the Own Network’s “Raising Whitley” hosted this year’s show.

Hollywood’s best in film, television, theatre and music presented and performed, including Tichina Arnold (Survivor’s Remorse, Everybody Hate Chris), Lamorne Morris (New Girl), Teyonah Parris (Dear White People), Shanola Hampton (Shameless), Kellita Smith (The Bernie Mac Show), Angell Conwell and Omar Gooding (Bounce TV’s Family Time), Donis Leonard Jr. (House of Lies), Obba Babatundé (Half & Half, Dreamgirls “Original Broadway Cast”, Miss Evers’ Boys), Jamie Hector (Max Payne), Cocoa Brown (Tyler Perry’s The Single Moms Club), Nadine Ellis, Erica HubbardChristian Keyes (Let’s Stay Together), Stephen Bishop, and Lisa Vidal (Being Mary Jane), Peter Parros (Tyler Perry’s The Haves and the Have Nots) Chrystee Pharris (Passions), and R&B singers-songwriters Macy Gray, Chante Moore, and Shanica Knowles, Broadway superstar Chester Gregory and award winning theatre director Ted Lange.  Sponsors Grand Leyenda and Collinwood hosted the Awards Show Official After-party to the spins of the Champion of New Sound “DJ B-Hen” featuring a special performance by the sensational urban pop group “The Jazmin Sisters”.

10-time Grammy Award winner Kenny “Babyface” Edmonds presented life-long friend and 6-time Grammy Award winner Toni Braxton with the NAACP Spirit AwardGlynn Turman received the Life Time Achievement Award while Roger Guenveur Smith took home the Trail Blazer AwardRegional President of Community BankJohn Sotoodeh  received the President’s Award and Senior Vice President of Wells Fargo, Byron Reed was honored with the Community Service Award.

The NAACP Theatre Awards Viewing Committee considered all candidates who submitted their production from January 2013 through December 2013 for possible nomination. All production must have had a 5-week production run in Southern California (San Diego to Bakersfield included) to be considered. Productions who met all eligibility requirements before the deadline were considered eligible for a 2014 NAACP Theatre Award.

For more information and latest news, please visit the official NAACP Theatre Awards website at

About The NAACP Theatre Awards: 

The NAACP Theatre Awards is presented by the Beverly Hills/Hollywood NAACP Branch.  Ron Hasson is branch president and Tia Boyd (Staff member of the Business Management CPA Firm “Tanner Mainstain Glynn & Johnson”) is the executive producer for the NAACP Theatre Awards Show.  The prestigious gala is produced for the purpose of honoring thespians of color amongst the best in the field of entertainment.

The 24th Annual NAACP Theatre Award winners are:

Best Choreography – Equity

The Royale – Ameenah Kaplan


Best Choreography – Local

Dreamgirls – Rae Toledo


Best Costumes – Equity

Joe Turner’s Come and Gone – Karen Perry


Best Costumes – Local

Dreamgirls – Michael Mullen


Best Director – Equity 

Joe Turner’s Come and Gone – Phylicia Rashad


Best Director – L ocal

One Night In Miami – Carl Cofield


Best Director of a Musical – Equity

Smokey Joe’s Café: The Songs of Leiber and Stoller – Jeffrey Polk


Best Director of a Musical – Local

Dreamgirls – Marco Gomez


Best Ensemble Cast – Equity

The Brothers Size


Best Ensemble Cast – Local

One Night In Miami


Best Lead Female – Equity

Letters from Zora:In Her Own Words – Vanessa Bell Calloway


Best Lead Female  – Local

Sick and Tired – Keturah Baker


Best Lead Male – Equity

Breath and Imagination – Elijah Rock


Best Lead Male – Local

Blood Knot – Oscar Best


Best Lighting – Equity

12 Angry Men – Brian L. Gale


Best Lighting – Local

Steel Magnolias – David Carreno


Best Music Director – Equity

Breath and Imagination – Rahn Coleman


Best Music Director – Local

Dreamgirls – Chris Raymond



Best One Person Show – Local 

Beautiful – Jozanne Marie


Best Playwright – Equity

Breath and Imagination – Daniel Beaty



Best Playwright – Local

One Night In Miami – Kemp Powers


Best Producer – Equity

12 Angry Men – The Pasadena Playhouse


Best Producer – Local 

One Night In Miami – John Perrin Flynn & Roxanne Hart


Best Set Design – Equity

One Night with Janis Joplin – Justin Townsend


Best Set Design – Local

Rent – Anderson William


Best Sound – Equity

Breath and Imagination – Dave Mickey


Best Sound – Local

Dreamgirls – David Crawford


Best Supporting Female – Equity

One Night with Janis Joplin – Sebrina Elayne Carten


Best Supporting Female – Local

Pieces – Tiffany Snow


Best Supporting Male – Equity

The Road Weeps, the Well Runs Dry – Darryl Alan Reed


Best Supporting Male – Local 

The Good Negro – Stephen Grove Malloy